View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 30, 2008, 01:53pm
Skahtboi Skahtboi is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
It was a pretty basic call on my part but I just really want to check that I was correct. My reasoning for checking is coach and partner both thought I handled it wrong. I think I handled it right.

I am PU on this play.

R1 on 2b. Routine ground ball to F4. R1 moving to 3b. As R1 approaches 3b the F5 gets in her way. I hold my hand out and announce "Obstruction." It was pretty much a formality as the runner wasn't going anywhere else and in my mind the penalty was " she's protected to 3B. The coach then tells her to run home, F1 has the ball now,and tosses it the catcher and they get the runner by 10 feet. I have an out. Coach said runner should get home due to the OBS. I tell coach I had the runner protected to 3B and no more.

Everyone moved on and after game my BU agreed with the coach.

Please tell me I'm not missing something here and that I'm learning my lessons around here.
So the runner was obstructed between second and third, correct? And you felt that the runner would not have achieved home had there not been obstruction, right? If you answered yes to both of these, then you, sir, are correct in your ruling.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote