View Single Post
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 30, 2008, 08:54am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Nope, I'm saying that an official cannot do as you say and make such a call on a CONTACT play because the official deems the action unsporting.
Let's look at that rule again.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
4-19-14 . . . An unsporting foul is a noncontact technical foul which consists of unfair, unethical, dishonorable conduct or any behavior not in accordance with the spirit of fair play.
I think the part I highlighted in red leaves room to call an unsporting foul even when contact is involved. In fact, I think it specifically applies to a situation when, prior to the ball becoming live, a player grabs an opponent to prevent him from moving or to "get in his head."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote