View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 21, 2008, 04:36pm
argodad argodad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaellis
NFHS

A local "controversy" last week regarding 6-1-1(c) prompted me to look into the NFHS rules book (only dealing with ASA right now).

I noticed that the penalty for an Rule 6, Section 1, Article 1 violation (sounds rather federal doesn't it) is, "An Illegal Pitch is Called" nothing more is mentioned. Further down, when identifying the penalty for violations of Article 2, 3, & 4, (specific to those articles .. it doesn't mention Article 1) the book again says "An Illegal Pitch is Called", and then goes on to identify the penalty for the violation. The same is true throughout the pitching section.

Misprint? or is the penalty for violating 6-1-1 only to call "Illegal Pitch" .. and if so .. then what?
Not a misprint -- just a failure to spell out the penalty for an illegal pitch (ball on the batter, runners advance one base).
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote