View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 29, 2008, 06:44pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
If you've determined the players aren't going to inbound the ball, call an immediate throw-in violation. Case play 9.2.2C is clear on this. My guess is they want it called because the team could easily score within 5 seconds, and then the other team could be on their way down the court before you get to your count. There could be other rules to deal with this, but it's just easier to call the violation once it's clear they aren't going to do a proper throwin.

In spite of what the Vail Christian varsity coach tried to tell me this past season, slapping the backboard is legal if it is the result of legitimate play (attempting to block a shot, trying for a rebound, etc.) It is not legal if it is purposefully done.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote