![]() |
|
|
|||
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...
Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Give That Kid A Contract ...
Quote:
CONSISTENCY Is consistent in all calls regardless of situation or point of time in the game. For example consistency in the determination of a block vs. a charge. It sounds like we need to offer you membership on our board. Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Mar 30, 2008 at 12:49pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
I would agree. I have seen some guys slap the backboard hard enough to affect a shot like a layup or a shot that is "hanging" on the rim or the heel of the rim. I would suggest that if the player goes for a block and strikes part of the ball and then hits the backboard that should be legal, but if the player misses the ball entirely and then strikes the backboard that should be illegal and the basket should count.
|
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
I agree with that! If it causes the ball to come out, BI, simple enough! Would get more people calling that than the technical that shouldn't be called in the first place.
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
Way Back When ...
Way back, didn't the NFHS slapping the backboard rule include something about the backboard, or basket, vibrating?
http://rds.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0WTbx6WuP...te/wayback.jpg |
|
|||
9.2.2c
Quote:
Ruling: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7) |
|
|||
I had this same situation earlier in the year and posted my question on this forum. B1 hits a shot, A1 catches directly under the net after it goes through, makes NO attempt to get OB, throws an outlet pass to A2 who goes up court. I hit the whistle and signal a throw-in violation. I don't feel 9.2.2 C covers my situation or yours b/c the player doesn't make an attempt to get OB, however I still say this is a violation. If you disagree with me, what if before you can blow it dead, the defense fouls? Then there's a problem. So I say you have a violation for not having a legal throw in.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD | OFISHE8 | Basketball | 4 | Sat Dec 18, 2004 09:12am |
slapping of the backboard | timharris | Basketball | 2 | Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:09pm |
Slapping Backboard | tschriver | Basketball | 2 | Tue Nov 20, 2001 10:18pm |
Slapping the backboard | JWC | Basketball | 29 | Fri Sep 28, 2001 02:09pm |
Slapping backboard | db | Basketball | 3 | Sat Jan 06, 2001 02:04am |