Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
No-called backcourt situation. WV had the ball near the line, and Duke slapped it up into the air. WV player retreated to the BC and caught the ball before it hit the floor in the BC.
Official no-called it and gave the foul-tip signal. My first thought, "They missed that one." Then I kept thinking, and realized this is the play where it seems the case play (NFHS) contradicts the rule. I'm not sure if NCAA has the same interp.
|
How is this a BC violation?
What case play contradicts the rule?
9-9-1
A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or
a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
9.9.1 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A's frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A's backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt. RULING: In (a), it is a violation. The ball was in control of Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the back court.
In (b), legal play. A Team A player was not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-second count.
This isn't a BC violation.