View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 10:53am
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
I am working an Easter AAU event ... I agree ... the foul was on the jump stop - not the shot. I had a Div. I official tell me continuous motion applies here and I should have awarded the FTs. huh????????
What was the D1 official's role? Parent sitting in the stands? Friend of yours? Coach? Evaluator?

I still don't get how you judged this to be a jump stop if he was fouled in the air. A "jump stop" is defined in the rules as a sequence of actions by the player with the ball - what you thought MIGHT have resulted in a jump stop could have ended with a shot or a pass to the perimeter if the player didn't get fouled. In any event if you judged he started his shooting motion then give FTs, otherwise don't. No biggie.
Reply With Quote