View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2008, 12:33pm
socalreff socalreff is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Just a thought...

Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92
High school girl's game, with 30 sec. shot clock in play.

A1 fouls B1 while in the shooting motion and prohibits the ball from immediately leaving the shooter's hand. The 30 sec. shot clock sounds while the ball is still in B1's hand, but then the ball is shot and goes in. What is the result?
The case book clearly says that you don't count the basket and give the shooter 2 or 3 shots. -- FED and NCAA
NCAA rules state that you shall go to the monitor on this situation to see if the foul occurred and/or the shot was released before the horn or 0.00 on the clock. And if the foul occurred before the expiration of time, you put the time back on the clock that remained when the foul occurred, not when the whistle blew.
Question is this: By putting time back on the clock, the period never expired and the horn shoudn't have sounded.
Do we then count the basket because of the timing error?
Which rule supercedes the other?
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote