View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 11:22am
Lapopez Lapopez is offline
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
Yes, exactly what I'm saying. The pitcher is in the set position when he brings his hands together and makes a discernible stop. Ref: 6-1-3

FED 6-1-3 For the set position, the pitcher shall have the ball in either his gloved hand of his pitching hand. His pitching hand shall be down at his side or behind his back. Before starting his delivery, he shall stand with his entire non-pivot foot in front of a line extending through the front edge of the pitcher's plate and with his entire pivot foot in contact with or directly in front of the pitcher's plate. He shall go the the set position without interruption and in one continuous motion. He shall come to a complete and discernible stop (a change of direction is not considered an acceptable stop) with the ball in both hands in front of the body and his glove at or below his chin. ...
For what you are saying, I think the rule book already clearly covers in 6-2-4e. I don't know what you are trying to emphasize in 6-1-3 quote above. Prior to bringing the hands together and making a discernible stop, are you going to balk a pitcher for raising his hand and adjusting his cap, scratching his cheek, swatting a bug away? I say no. I don't think it violates 6-2-4d. But if he goes to his mouth, it's a balk. That's not clear in the rule book to me. It is in the case plays so I'll call it, but I'd prefer it to be clear in the rules as well.