View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2008, 07:56am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck
I have always thought that the IFR should be in effect even if it is only with first base occupied and less than 2 outs. What protects the offense if the defense just lets the ball drop and then turns a double play?
Nothing if the idiot BR doesn't run to 1B, nor does the offense deserve any protection. If the D turns two because the BR doesn't run to 1B, the defense deserves the double play.

The reason the rule is there is because the runners are in a no win situation since they are required to tag up prior to advancing on a caught fly ball. The BR has no such restrictions.
Reply With Quote