Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by jmaellis
					
				 
				brand-spanking-new ump. here with a question.   
  
I get the infield fly rule and it's purpose.  In the OP the ball landed in foul territory and then rolled fair.  Why, in this scenario isn't this just a foul ball .. or is it?  I'm having trouble following the different replies with regard to the correct ruling in this situation. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Hey welcome to the blue!
The first thing you need to know is forum umpires love debating nuance.
I havent read this whole thread, so its probably a lot of that.
The OP stated lands on the foul side and rolls fair between H/1B.. so that is what? Fair.. so IFF would apply since it applies to fair balls (as opposed to foul balls).