Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
Batter steps in box, defensive coach requests time and protest illegal player; not in lineup. PU checks lineup, agrees, and make an ASA ruling, ejecting the batter. This is an NFHS game and BU knows that unnounced sub is legally in game, but says nothing. Obviously a wrong call; player has been kicked out of the game due no fault of her own; but coach was unsure of the rule so the play stands.
|
This one I'm going to verify and correct if possible. This one is fixable, and is a mis-interpretation of a rule. I'm goin up and saying "partner, can I talk to you about this real quick? I think you may have the ASA penalty confused with the NFHS penalty... let's make sure we're 100% correct on this before we tell little Suzy she can't play for the rest of the game."
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
Varsity game, two good teams, but kind of a low key game. Two outs, R1 comes off 2B on the pitch. Ball is returned to F1; R1 stops and slowly starts back towards 2B. F1 raises her throwing hand with the ball; R1 stops and looks at F1. BU calls R1 out for LBR violation. R1 starts to object, then runs off field. I (PU) am looking for the O coach, but she says nothing (she may not have seen F1's play attempt either). So I let it go and wander down the base line to confer with partner while teams are changing.
|
I'd treat this as a judgement call, and no, I'm not going to correct my partner on this. His judgement is his judgement... just like I wouldn't on a bang-bang play at 1B where he called out and I saw safe (unless help was asked, etc).