Quote:
Originally Posted by NM FP Ump
I am interpreting the play using NFHS rules (and only 2 years of OJT) and not ASA rules (and your vast knowledge and OJT). Maybe I still need some educating....
I should have asked this question first: "Which ruleset was this game played under?"
|
Scott - you can't get "educated" if you don't listen. You followed the expert's post by stating that you weren't buying it.
Both ASA and NFHS agree that if contact occurs between the B-R and F2 in the batter's boxes or within a couple steps, that both are doing what is expected of them and the correct call is - - - -
No Call! Play on!
I have that in writing from a member of the NFHS Softball Rules Committee. You should check your NFHS umpires manual, page 46 - Collisions.
WMB