Thread: Over and Back
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 02:19pm
buckrog64 buckrog64 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 323
I would have called the same thing. In the '05-'06 casebook, 4.4.4 says, "A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual's location." IMO, the ball achieved front court status by touching A2 on the shin, it rebounded into the back court and was first touched by an A player. 9.9.1 says, 'A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.' Seems to be cut and dry to me, but the fans aren't informed and when you make the proper call, everyone goes nuts because they get their rule knowledge TV. Case book 9.9.1C from 05-06 has a similar situation for you.
__________________
Be like a duck: cool and calm on the surface but paddling like the devil underneath....
Reply With Quote