View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 11:27am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Why is ASA 8-2-D written this way?

A question on the Fed board got me looking at this.

ASA 8-2-D
Quote:
Section 2. BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT.
D. When the batter-runner fails to advance to first base and enters the team area after ... a hit batter (Fast Pitch)...
EXCEPTION: ...(Fast Pitch) on a hit batter. The batter-runner is not out...
Consider the case of a hit batter in the fast pitch game. This rule says the batter-runner is out if she enters the team area and then lists an exception that says she is not out.

Why not just leave hit batter out of the rule in the first place?

I must be missing something.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Fri Feb 22, 2008 at 11:44am.
Reply With Quote