View Single Post
  #62 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2008, 01:20am
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyvol
Can someone answer this concerning NFHS Rules? I saw this happen earlier this season. The officials got together and decided that they could not call a T since they werent 100% sure that the one team had six players on the court and plus they said that in order for it to be a T they had to catch it during a live ball situation. Were they correct?
10-1-6: A team shall not have more than 5 members participating simultaneously.

PENALTY: Penalized if discovered while being violated.

Live ball not specified. When is a player considered to be participating? Preparing for a throw in, players jockeying for position, I would consider that to be participation. Coach sees the problem, requests time out, you count six heading off the court, I have no problem with making the call then, others may disagree.

One thing I know. Nothing sends a buzz through the crowd any better than 6 on the court.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote