Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Let's assume you (Jurrassic) are right. How much time does it take before you'd put something back??? How much time must you observe on the clock before it is not "so near" that you'll put it back?
You're not going to reply, I know, because you won't be able to post an answer that has any backing. If you do reply with a number, you'll be completely making it up.
Imagine the whistle blows at 2.0 and everyone sees 2.0 but the timer drops the handheld switchbox and can't get it stopped for 2 seconds. According to you, since the timer stopped it as fast as they could (there is no mention in the rule of exceptions to the exception), no adjustment can be made. Of course, this is preposterous.
|
I posted the answer and the rules citations that back it that answer. Unfortunately, you don't have a clue what I'm talking about, as usual.
You can put time back on the clock
ONLY if the timer makes a
MISTAKE. That's rule 5-10. If the timer
DOESN'T make a
MISTAKE, there is
NO rule in the book that will allow you to put time back on the clock. If you think differently, and you obviously do, then cite a rule...any rule...that will allow an official to put time back on the clock when there hasn't been a timing mistake.
The play that you detailed above is a timer's
MISTAKE! It has got absolutely nothing to do with the play being discussed. In the play being discussed, there was
NO timer's mistake.
And when you get a chance, maybe you can also explain why no time is put back on the clock in case book 5.6.2SitG. In that play, the foul occurred
BEFORE the ball was in flight and time expired
AFTER the ball was in flight. That's why 5-6-2EXCEPTION3 is in the rule book.
I gave you the applicable rules citation. Now see if you you can find a rule...any rule... that will allow an official to put time back on the clock when the timer
hasn't made a mistake. I await
your reply.