View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2008, 04:06pm
Gimlet25id Gimlet25id is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
What rule?

Rainmaker gave the applicable rule-- rule 5-6-2EXCEPTION3. Bob Jenkins was correct. There was no timing error. The timer simply couldn't stop the clock before time expired. There's no rules basis that I'm aware of under NFHS rules that will allow you to put time back on the clock. There's no monitor to use--like NCAA rules.
I agree that I wouldn't have done anything on this other then shoot the throws and leave. However I think the rule book would back up either situation.

5-6-2 Ex. 3 would back up calling it and leaving and Rule 5-10-1 in addition to applying Case play 5.10.1 Sit. D would back the ruling to add .2 back to the clock since it would be exact time observed by the timer which is also considered definitive knowledge.

In my game I'm calling it and leaving. In the OP's play the rule book would back the "R" up by putting up .2 and playing on.
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote