There are so many problems with this play, its hard to know where to begin.
For those of you arguing in ANY way that what happened MIGHT have been correct, PLEASE STOP!! RIGHT NOW. You are making a complete fool out of yourself. Rut is 100% right. Not only could there have not been a foul called at .2, the UT player was just then grabbing the rebound. The clock stopped long before a foul was called.
I agree with the other posters who said there was no foul here. I'm not even sure a Rut player made ANY contact with the shooter, but that's beside the point as all this happened long after the clock should have gone off.
The only explanation here is that the officials did not know that the clock stopped and had no way of knowing even with the replays. What we saw on ESPN was not what they saw on the monitor. There is no way under the sun that they could have ruled the way they did if they saw what we saw. If in fact, they did, they should be fired for gross incompetence.
Finally, from a mechanics standpoint, the C is WAAAYYYY out of position.
|