View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 01:10pm
jdw3018 jdw3018 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Is their a rule reference or case book play on this one?

Logically, I can't justify rewarding B coach with a timeout. That said, it was officials goof.

Couldn't a coach try and slip that in from time to time on defense, knowing you may get a break on an inadvertant whistle?
I don't have my books with me, but I believe there is a specific case play. Bottom line is, the ball is dead once you blow the whistle. Even if you want to call it an inadvertent whistle because you shouldn't have granted the TO, now that the ball is dead, he can have his TO and there is no rule that says otherwise.
Reply With Quote