View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 11:45am
Hartsy Hartsy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkmz17
I was at the OSU - Colorado men's game last night when "traveling" was called on an throw in. The OSU point guard was given the ball for a designated spot throw in and Welmer apparently felt that he left the designated spot. However, he gave the "traveling" signal to indicate the violation. What is the proper mechanic for indicating this violation?
It is this incorrect mechanic that leads to the myth that on a spot throw in the thrower has to plant both feet and not move them.

Just the other night I was watching the varsity game following a JV game I worked, and a fan went bananas on an official because the thrower moved her feet. His exact words (among others) was "she can't move her feet on a spot throw in. It's just like a travel!" The official laughed at him.

When the play cleared out, and considering I was standing there already, I quietly explained the rule to the unruly fan. He didn't say a word the rest of the night, and I got a Thank You from game management.
Reply With Quote