Just as you can have a different ruling on backswing interference, after reading and discussing this play with others, I believe you can have two differnt rulings.
If the runner aggressively returns during unrelaxed action, the time play is/should be in effect IHMO. If the runner over runs the plate, comes to a stop, and as long as he doens't enter the dugout, he may return and protect himself against the appeal by touching the plate, during relaxed action.
As it has been pointed out, there really isn't a correct answer to this one, the rules simply don't discuss or cover this play. So not only does it come down to being a day or night game, is it east or west coast, and north or south. Were all have to agree to dis-agree on this one. And may the first portest win.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
|