
Sun Jan 27, 2008, 05:47pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
The best way to look at this is to divide the play into two different situations: Play 1: A dunk by a VAR player before the ten-minute mark; and Play 2: A dunk by a VAR player after the ten-minute mark.
Play 1: This is the easy play. The officails count players. Team A has 15 players in uniform on the court warming up. Who cares if they are JV or VAR players, the officials don't care because they don't need to care until the ten-minute mark. Direct TF charged to the VAR player, indirect charged to the JV-HC, and one foul charged to the team's totals for seven and ten in the first half, and yes the JV-C loses the Coaching Box if in a State that uses it. If JV-HC complains that the dunker is a VAR player, too bad, he was out there in uniform warming up. It is not the officials' job to take a census of the players when they take jurisdicion of the game at the fifteen minute mark. Whether the VAR player's name is added to the Scorebook is another matter but is not really germaine to the Play.
Play 2: This situation is a bit of a sticky wicket. Let me give an example. The R checks the Scorebook and discovers that Team A has twelve players warming up but only eleven players in the book. The R goes to A-HC and informs him of the discrepency. A-HC tells you that he doesn't intend to play A-12 unless he really needs to and is willing to let Team A be charged with an administrative TF if he later wants to add A-12's name to the book. Can the official tell A-HC that A-12 can't warm-up? The answer is no. This is a decision that A-HC can only make (not even game managemnet Gimlet). Now lets see how that applys to our play. A-12 now decides that he wants to dunk and dead ball and does so. What is the R to do? RULING: Direct TF to A-12 (counts toward his two TF's and combination of five PER and TF's), ndirect charged to the JV-HC, and one foul charged to the team's totals for seven and ten in the first half, and yes the JV-C loses the Coaching Box if in a State that uses it. And in my humble opinion A-12's name has to be added to the Scorebook, and an Administrative TF charged to Team A, meaning that Team A has two fouls toward it first half total of seven and ten team fouls.
Is this situation analogous to the VAR players warming up with the JV players before the JV game? I think so. The R discovers only ten names in the score book at the ten-minute mark when there are fifteen players in uniform warming up. The R notifies the JV-HC who informs the R that they VAR players warming up with the JV players. Should the R care? No. Who knows, maybe some of the five VAR players might be added to the JV Scorebook later because they are going to need the bodies to finish the JV game. If VAR-11 then decides to dunk a dead ball. Treat this play the same way as you would if it were A-12 in my example.
The big quesion for both Play 1 and Play 2 is whether to add the player's name to the JV Scorebook and access the penalty for changing the roster if the name is added after the ten-minute mark. I would because you are charging a player (bench personel) with a TF, but I could live with a ruling that says the player's name is not added to the Jv-Scorebook.
MTD, Sr.
|
Yup, Mark, you convinced me. I'm with JR. No way I could ever pull off the kind of think you're talking about.
|