Thread: Player goes OOB
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2008, 01:20pm
Gimlet25id Gimlet25id is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlancast
Suppose player A1 gets a rebound, loses his balance and the ball, stumbles out of bounds (ball remains in bounds), he regains his position in bounds, and then secures the ball. No one else has touched the ball. Would you call a violation on this? I can't find any rule that prohibets a player from gaining control of a live ball after stepping OOB EXCEPT Rule 9.3 which says a player cannot leave the floor for an unauthorized reason. All interpretations of this rule seem to indicate that the intent is to keep a player from INTENTIONALLY leaving the floor, and in the case above, this was NOT intentional, so I don't see that a violoation occurred. If the rule were meant for any player leaving the floor for any reason, we'd be calling violations after nearly every contested layup. Comments?
No violation. If the ball stayed in bounds, his momentum carried him out then as long as he established himself on the inbounds side of the floor before touching the ball I have nothing. Legal play.
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote