View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 07:50am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave30
Offensive player is on a one-man fastbreak obviously taking it to the basket real strong. Defensive player braces for the collision by jumping straight up, but while jumping sticks out his forearm and turns a bit. Offensive player crashes into defensive player and takes the forearm to the face. Both players crash on the floor.

It happened to me tonight. I had a "no call"...not really!

Actually, I called a player control foul and got the coaches, fans, and players all riled up!

I explained that the defensive player jumped straight up and only had his arm up to protect himself. In my opinion, the offensive player went in with the intent to draw a foul, not to score, and I thought it was player control.

What do you think? Was I right?
Team B player is permitted to jump straight up - s/he has maintained position via the principle of verticality. In addition, there is allowance to protect oneself by rotating the torso or using hands/arms where there is a pending collision. There is no restriction that one of these two elements changes when both are in place.

I'd like to know how this forearm was extended - so it's a had to see play - because if the forearm was out of the cylinder, I have a block. If the forearm was just (almost) immediately in front on his own torso, I have a PC.

IMHO, you made the correct call.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote