Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
By whom? Not MLB.
The J/R, in my opinion, comes in second to the JEA, and while both can help provide an understanding of the rules, neither are an OBR Bible.
|
I can't name em all, but a bunch of umpires..
Okay, "bible" was kinda strong.
From JEA:
"JEA 5.06 C&U: "When the runner misses home plate but crosses it, for all legal purposes he shall be considered as having touched it. To nullify the run the defensive team must properly appeal."
In the OP he didn't do this, he attempted to touch the plate
The missed base appeal can be upheld only if the runner or the missed base was tagged prior to the runner's touching the base, unless a following runner had scored or the runner had touched a base beyond the missed base after the ball became dead.
He didn't miss it, he touched it too late
To be "legal" the runner has to touch home, before the 3rd out is made..
JustanotherUmp asks:
"is the ball alive or dead after the third out is recorded?"
I say, live..
Other wise; that last defensive player, before he crosses the foul line, would not be able to appeal a runner. Cause, the only way to put a ball back into play after time; F1, F2 and all the others in their places, etc. Then "play"..