View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2008, 02:56pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Henry
I thought I knew this but my partner and I had a friendly discussion at the break last night at a 7th grade game on this throw-in violation.

During a throw-in the thrower steps ON the line. I thought no violation because the line is OOB, but if thrower steps OVER the line, then a violation. But partner says if you step on the line you have broken the plane, therefore violation.

I tried to find the specific rule on this but no luck.
It says in the book that the inside edge of the boundary line is where OOB starts. Therefore, the line is OOB. If someone is stepping beyond the line for a throw-in, they are OOB. When they step on the line, nothing has changed. Still OOB.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote