Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
"An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble." 4.15.5
In the OP I would argue that it didn't "get away" from the dribbler, she intentionally left it there, therefore her dribble continues...
|
Therefore, she is momentarily not in control of the ball. The situation in the OP is definitely an interrupted dribble and thus not a violation. As the rule says, "There is no player control" at the time. Contact with the ball doesn't matter. A dribbler most definitely can be in control when the hand is not in physical contact with the ball, but that is just during the normal bounce.
In summary, if a dribbler steps on the division line (after being fully in the fc) or a boundary line this is a violation even if the dribbler is not in physical contact with the ball at the time. However, a player may touch the division line or a boundary line during an interrupted dribble without violating. The call hinges on the concept of player control.
Casebook play for reference:
7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)