Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by BayStateRef
					
				 So based on the facts of this game, what would you do? | 
	
 On a play like this I check the clock to make sure that the timer properly waits to start it.  So I would have seen it start and caught it after only a couple of seconds came off.  At that point I would have sounded the whistle, which would have been well before the player touched the ball inbounds, and reset the clock to 34.  Since the stoppage came DURING a throw-in that is the POI and the game is resumed with a throw-in for the same team from the same location.
 
JR has made a good point in the past that NFHS 4-36-1 does not specify "timing" error, but it does state correctable error.  I think that the spirit and intent of the rule is for it to apply just the same.  Also I have sent a comment about adding the words "or timing mistake" to my rep on the NFHS rule committee.  This is a simple fix which would greatly clarify such situations.