View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2007, 01:11am
larryr larryr is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
According to the NCAA rules which I just downloaded, it might not have mattered whether the guy touched the ball and it's too bad the on-air talent didn't discuss the question:

FR-124 RULE 9.2 / CONDUCT OF PLAYERS AND OTHERS SUBJECT TO RULES
be disqualified [S47]. If a player or an identified squad
member in uniform commits two unsportsmanlike fouls in
the same game, he shall be disqualified.

b. Other prohibited acts include:
1. During the game, coaches, substitutes and authorized attendants in
the team area shall not be on the field of play or outside the 25-yard
lines without permission from the referee unless legally entering or
leaving the field (Exceptions: Rules 1-2-4-g and 3-3-8-c). Team area
personnel who are outside the team area and who have involvement
or impact on live-ball play are subject to penalty under Rule 9-1-4-
a....[omitted stuff]

PENALTY—Dead-ball foul. 15 yards [S7, S27] from the succeeding
spot. Flagrant offenders, if players or substitutes, shall be
disqualified [S47].


To me this doesn't make it clear which team would have had possession after enforcement of the penalty.
Reply With Quote