Thread: Help on Call
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 15, 2007, 11:49pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Bob and JR:

I think I know my NCAA Rules pretty well, but I do not remember seeing where this is a blocking foul on B2. The definitions for guarding, screening, block, charge, and legal positions on the floor are the same in both the NFHS and NCAA rule books. Please help me out here. I am at our son's first H.S. swim meet of the season and I do not have my rules books with me. Thanks.

MTD, Sr.
Mark,
When I get home to my books I will find it for you but I remember reading that this is a blocking foul in NCAA. The reasoning is that lying on the floor is not a legal guarding position, and frankly, I think the Fed ruling should be the same. Calling a guy for traveling because he trips over someone on the floor is a pretty crappy call.
Reply With Quote