View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 10:53pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
So we screw up this FT administration, and we're going to give A1 "his/her's" meritted free throw and then give A the ball back? That's not how I am reading 2.10.5 & 2.10.6.
Yes. Team B had two chances to prevent this.
1. They could have spoken up about it being the wrong shooter before the FTs were taken. They didn't.
2. They could have secured the rebound when the second FT was missed. They didn't. They were out played by Team A in that moment.

So the officials cannot now take the ball away from Team A which has rightfully earned it by hustle. The POI is the possession by Team A.

The 2-10 rules are written such that both teams have an incentive to bring a problem to the attention of the officials and get it done right. We don't want either team keeping quiet in the belief that they will benefit from the error.
Reply With Quote