View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2007, 03:25am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Johnny Ringo, you have stated that the ball slipped from the players grasp. He did not intentionally release the ball. Therefore, it is a fumble and he can go retrieve it without violating. It doesn't matter if the ball hits the floor or not. He can move his pivot foot and go get it. That's legal. Since it was a fumble and not an intentional controlled act, the player may still dribble after collecting the ball.

Now if the player purposely releases the ball, then the official must determine whether the action meets the requirements of a legal dribble or pass (needs to be touched by another player). The following NFHS interp is governing here:

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS
SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)
Reply With Quote