View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2007, 10:48am
ranjo ranjo is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Personally, I would have a hard time ruling that the ball inadvertently touched a hand(s) of a shooter's teammate. The rules definition of a try or tap states that ball must touch a hand or hands. And if it touches any other body part of the shooter's teammate, the try is over, as per case book play 6.7.6SitA. There's no reason that I can think of for a shooter's teammate to get his hand(s) in the air in front of the shot unless it's an attempt to re-direct that shot. And re-directing the shot ends the initial "try".

If t looks like a duck, walks like a duck, quacks like a dick.....
So if I understand your reasoning, if the orginal shot rebounded off a teammates head or shoulder and entered the basket, the try has ended and the goal would not count?
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote