View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2007, 10:34am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
If the ball was on the way up and inadvertently contacted A2, regardless of where it was (below or above rim level), it seems you would count the bucket.
Personally, I would have a hard time ruling that the ball inadvertently touched a hand(s) of a shooter's teammate. The rules definition of a try or tap states that ball must touch a hand or hands. And if it touches any other body part of the shooter's teammate, the try is over, as per case book play 6.7.6SitA. There's no reason that I can think of for a shooter's teammate to get his hand(s) in the air in front of the shot unless it's an attempt to re-direct that shot. And re-directing the shot ends the initial "try".

If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck, quacks like a beaver.....

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Nov 20, 2007 at 10:51am.
Reply With Quote