View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2007, 10:16am
jdw3018 jdw3018 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
Thanks for all of your replies and rules references. Rainmaker had it right in that that I had just "overthought" the whole thing.

The only remaining question is: If the ball was below the rim when it was inadvertently tapped; would that signify to you the original try was unsuccesfull?
Important clarification - where was the ball in flight? Was it on its way up or down?

If it was coming down, it was one of two things - either clearly unsuccessful, or it was goaltending. The outcome would be the same in either of these - no basket awarded and A1 gets two throws.

If the ball was on the way up and inadvertently contacted A2, regardless of where it was (below or above rim level), it seems you would count the bucket.
Reply With Quote