Thread: Kick situation
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 17, 2007, 05:45pm
wisref2 wisref2 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reffing Rev.
Yes but an illegal kick is the same as a fumble. I remember reading that in the rule book. I'm not disuputing anything else said, but could you construe the illegal kick is a fumble as a ending the kick, since you can't fumble without possession. Just curious your thoughts on that one.
You can't fumble a ball you don't possess. So an illegal kick in this instance is a muff (touching or being touched by the ball). So that doesn't change the status - it's still a kick. Whether an illegal kick is the same as a legal kick doesn't matter. The ball is still a kick (the original kick) because the original kick hasn't ended yet. It can't end until it is possessed or dead by rule.
Reply With Quote