View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2007, 08:23pm
jdw3018 jdw3018 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I don't care for this ruling, but here it is.

JUMPERS FACING WRONG DIRECTION
5.2.1 SITUATION E: During the pregame practice period, the visiting team properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. A1 controls the tap by tapping the ball back to A2. A2, realizing that he/she had warmed up at the basket behind A1, dribbles to that basket and scores an uncontested basket. RULING: Score the basket for Team A. The officials should stop the game and emphasize to both teams the proper direction. The mistake is an official's error by allowing A1 and B1 to face the wrong direction; not a correctable error.
The way I read the original post is that the jumpers were facing the correct direction, but the person who received the tap went the wrong way.

In this case, the only way you award a goal to A for scoring in B's basket is if the teams and officials all are going the "wrong way". In this case, it sounds as if the only confusion was A1 who scored. Edit: It doesn't sound as if the officials "permitted" it, rather A just went to the wrong basket.
Reply With Quote