View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2007, 08:03pm
Luv4Asian8 Luv4Asian8 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to Luv4Asian8 Send a message via Yahoo to Luv4Asian8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I don't care for this ruling, but here it is.

JUMPERS FACING WRONG DIRECTION
5.2.1 SITUATION E: During the pregame practice period, the visiting team properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. A1 controls the tap by tapping the ball back to A2. A2, realizing that he/she had warmed up at the basket behind A1, dribbles to that basket and scores an uncontested basket. RULING: Score the basket for Team A. The officials should stop the game and emphasize to both teams the proper direction. The mistake is an official's error by allowing A1 and B1 to face the wrong direction; not a correctable error.
Thanks for prompt response. While I agree with you whole-heartedly, I think this might be a very slightly different situation. Outside the fact pattern is that the jumpers are facing the wrong direction. I still would like to score for team A per 4-5-4, but the answer key (which does have the possibility of being wrong) does not provide me with guidance on why it should be scored for team B.

And yes, I meant "player" tech. Excellent catch!
__________________
"Always Remember Your First Game" -Victor M. Susanto
Reply With Quote