View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2002, 11:58am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
I can't believe we're still having this conversation. JR hit the nail on the head in his first response to Mark. The penalty section of rule 9-2 is unmistakable. "If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundary-line plane and fouls the thrower, an intentional personal foul shall be charged to the offender." There are no "alternatives" here. You call the intentional (personal) and move on. What is the confusion on this?

If you're still unsure, look at case 9.2.11. It deals with touching the ball instead of the player, but the application is the same.

Chuck
Right. Also look at the 10.3.12 cases. All impose only a single penalty -- not one for breaking the plane, plus another for contacting the ball / player.
Reply With Quote