View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2002, 10:19am
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,142
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Mark,please post your answer when you get an A.R. Until then,I disagree with you double-penalising a player.The key words in R9-2Penalty3&4 are "no warning for delay required".That covers all cases,and the rest of the language is very precise.

As I have stated before, by definition, the ball becomes dead when B1 committed the throw-in violation of reaching thru the boundary-line plane, meaning if B1 were to contintue on and touch the ball being held by A1 or make contact with A1, those two actions are to be ignored unless they are unsportsmanlike (in the official's judgment). But NFHS R4-S46-A1 cause an exception to the dead ball definition to be in effect for these two situations if the R4-S46-A1 has not yet been invoked. That is why "no warning for delay required" is at the end of R9-S2, Penalties 3 and 4. But once the R4-S46-A1 warning has been officially entered into the scorebook, B1's breaking of the boundary-line plane has to be penalized regardless of what he does after breaking the boundary-line plane. In my revised posting I did not say that you HAD to double penalize Team B in my Play 1c(i, ii, iii), but the official has three options available to him because R10-S1-A10 has to take precedence over R9-S2, Penalty 4.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote