View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2007, 03:33pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by boiseball
that is definitely true, so I guess my question would be different; you note control in back court and the time on the clock is 12 at that point and then crazy stuff happens and you accidentally lose your count (i.e. you think team control is about to change or there is a lose ball and for whatever reason you lose the count); if I look up and see the clock at 2, I am going to blow that dead as a violation; hopefully I will never need to resort to that but much wackier stuff could happen
It's just a missed call. It is not a timing error or a correctable error. The official missed it and that is the way it goes. There is no rules support for going back and fixing it.

What would you do in the same situation if any official clearly missed a travel in the backcourt? Would you instruct him to reset the clock and penalize this violation? That would silly.

Sorry, but it is just a missed call and that is why the NFHS says not to fix it.
Reply With Quote