View Single Post
Old Wed Nov 07, 2007, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
I disagree with the statement that most are just thrown in. I think many here either are required to go to camps or prove what they can do at a camp before giving some kind of assignment. There are too many camps across the country and many jurisdictions are requiring some kind of camp experience even before you step onto the court let alone working 3 Person in a real game. And if you have any aspirations or even an inkling that you will be assigned or could be assigned such a game, you need to do some research long before you actually get the call. My first year I started studying the 3 person system and I had no games in that system and later that year I was assigned a game. Not to say I was great or knew everything, but I was much better prepared for that reality.

Well even after this game is over, he needs to take time to learn the system anyway he can. Even if that means working some Men's Leagues (I cannot believe I just said that) and working with some vets to learn the basics. Even if he works this game this system is not something you learn overnight or learn by just working a couple of times on the court. For the system to have a flow, you need people to have a very good understanding so they can adjust to all kinds of situations and things that will throw you for a curve.

Peace
I certainly agree with 99% of what you're saying - though I'd be interested to know how many jurisdictions require a camp experience prior to working games. I've never been in one, though I've always worked in more rural states that are hurting for officials.