Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by With_Two_Flakes
					
				 
				In the situation described, NCAA Rules 9-4-4 applies and the penalty is 15 yds and a loss of down. Note that this rule does have an exception - no loss of down if the foul is beyond the NZ on a legal scrimmage kick. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 I'm trying to figure out what the difference would be if there were no such exception.  Are they implying that in the absence of such an exception, if K kicked their own kick on 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down that was already on R's side of the neutral zone, that the enforcement would make it K's ball?
Robert