Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeden
I thought this was a good play by the punter but apparently this is not a safety?
|
It is a Safety since that is the result of the play. But it is also a foul for Illegal Kicking and this is one of the handful of fouls that carry a loss of down in addition to yardage.
In the situation described, NCAA Rules 9-4-4 applies and the penalty is 15 yds and a loss of down. Note that this rule does have an exception - no loss of down if the foul is beyond the NZ on a legal scrimmage kick.
Depending on the game situation, Team B might take the 2 points for the Safety or (as in this case) take the result of the Penalty enforcement.
You could probably come up with a game situation where it might be better for Team B to take the 2 pts for the safety and then get possession again after the subsequent kickoff from the 20.