Isn't this a Safety?
While watching a Division IAA college football game with 16 seconds to go in the first half, its 4th down for Team A and they line up to punt. Team A's punter muffs the snap on his own 10 yard line, he chases after the ball and kicks it through the back of his own end zone from his own 2 yard line.
The referee threw a flag and I couldn't understand what he was saying on TV but said it was a loss of down and gave Team B the ball on Team A's 1 yard line for this. Team B then scored a TD on the next play with 9 seconds left in the half?
I thought this was a good play by the punter but apparently this is not a safety?
Can the forum please provide some clarification on this?
thank you in advance.
Mike
|