View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 12:51am
David Emerling David Emerling is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by btdt
R-1, R-2 No out
Fly ball to deep center caught by F-8
R-1 tags and advances to 2nd
R-2 fails to tag up and is slow in returning to 2nd
Ball comes into F-6 covering 2nd
F-6 tags R-1 and then steps on 2nd for the appeal play
Is this a double play?
or
Does R-1 have sanctuary on 2nd even though the base still belongs to R-2?

Can't figure out which rule would cover this.
I think the confusion on this play may stem from a rather counter-intuitive interference-type ruling.

Play: R1 & R3. The pitcher picks off R3 who is caught in a rundown between 3rd and home. As the rundown progresses, R1 advances to 2nd and ends up on 3rd when R3 is called out on interference of some sort. Even though R1 is standing on 3rd at the end of the play - he has to be sent back to 2nd because R3 is considered to be "occupying" 3rd at the time - even though he's not really standing on the base.

At least, I think that's the ruling.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote