Let me throw one more log on the fire. 4.44.5 Sit B. "It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball."
This is actually quite a similar situation, though it's certainly an oddball one. But I think there are some things to consider.
First, and foremost, simply placing the ball on the floor cannot be considered a dribble. It is not possible to travel during a dribble.
Second, this case is attached to 4-44-5, A player holding the ball.... If anything, I am forced to conclude that while setting the ball on the floor in such a way as to maintain control, and being the first to touch it again, the player is still considered to be holding the ball.
It's certainly a corner case, and the rules don't address it directly. But the case cited leads me to believe that the rules committee deems this situation to be most like the player is continuing to hold the ball, not dribbling.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
|