View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 27, 2007, 10:06pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
A25 catches the ball, then fumbles it. B47 picks it up and runs it back to the 4-yard line, where he is tackled by A50. A50 commits a 15-yard facemask penalty on the tackle.

However, the booth calls for a replay to determine whether the ball was fumbled or whether there was an incomplete pass. If the ruling on the field stands, B will have the ball 1st and goal on the 2. My question - what happens if the play is overturned and ruled an incomplete pass? Is everything after the INC cancelled? (I know the clock is reset.) Would the ruling be any different if the call wasn't a PF?
CANADIAN RULING:

Well, we don't have IR at the amateur level, so I could not say what would happen. Although the CFL does have IR, I do not know the CFL approach to this. I would imagine that due to the view of Unnecessary Roughness fouls in Canadian amateur football, the facemask (we only have a 15-yard version) would still be applied, as we frown upon any UR foul at any time.

The ruling would be:
  • Accept the penalty: L15, repeat the down.
  • Decline the penalty: roll the down.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote