Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe
Bob, could you please explain why this is? It seems that rule 10-4-7 applies only if a loose ball occurs after the related run ends. Am I just misreading the rule?
Thanks!
|
REPLY: Welpe...I wasn't meaning to imply that 10-4-7 governs the play when there's no fumble, only that the result would be the same, i.e. enforcement from the offensive team's goal line. I don't have my rule book with me today (I know...a sin) but the governing rule is a Special Enforcement (was 10-5-2 in 2006) that says: "The enforcement spot for any foul by the defense is the goal line when the run ends in the end zone and would result in a safety."